Kin AI

Kin: a no-training commitment, and three company names

A written no-training commitment from a Danish company. Or three of them, depending which document you read.

Last verified AI Friend

What is Kin?

Kin is an iOS personal AI companion built as five advisors covering work, relationships, values, energy and social confidence, with persistent memory, guided journaling and voice. It is Danish, and its privacy notice names Kin AI ApS of Copenhagen with a CVR number you can look up. Its pitch is privacy: conversations, journal entries and memory are stated to stay on your device.

At a glance

Key facts about Kin, last verified 9 Sept 2026
CategoryAI Friend
Pricing modelSubscription
Starting priceNot published
Pricing noteNo price appears on mykin.ai and there is no pricing page: the path returns 404. The figures below are the in-app purchases published on the App Store listing, which is the only place a buyer can read them before paying.
Free tierYesFree to download, with everything sold as in-app purchase. What a non-paying account includes is not published, and ClickTug holds no account, so the allowance is unverified.
Free trialNo
Card required at signupNo
Account requiredYes
Payment methodsApple in-app
PlatformsiOS
Generation modesCharacter chat, Text chat, Voice chat
Content filteringStrict filtering
Age policySelf-declared at signup
Position on minorsNot publishedNo minor safety policy is published and the privacy notice has no children's section. The terms of use state you must be at least 18 to consent to use Kin, while the App Store rates the app 16+. Checked 9 Sep 2026.
Data retentionConversations, journal entries and memory are stated to stay locally on the device. The Kin API runs on Cloudflare Workers and data may be stored in Cloudflare D1. The only retention period given as a number covers optional diagnostic traces, deleted automatically after 30 days. Server-side records are removed within a reasonable period after account deletion.source
Trains on your contentNo
Deletion on requestSelf-serve in account settings
Anonymous useNot supported
CompanyKin AI ApS, Copenhagen, Denmark, governed by Danish law
Last verifiedby ClickTugger

Product identity

Identity and operator of Kin
Official nameKinVerified
OperatorKin AI ApSDocumented
JurisdictionCopenhagen, Denmark, governed by Danish lawDocumented
Websitemykin.aiVerified
Also known asKin AI, mykin.ai, Kin Personal AI AdvisorsVerified

What Kin claims, and what we found

Each row is a claim the vendor makes on a public page, beside what the same vendor's other pages say. Where two of their documents disagree we record both rather than choosing one. All checked 9 Sept 2026.

Vendor claims checked against ClickTug findings
Vendor claimWhat we foundStatus
Your data stays on your devicePartly. Conversations, journal entries and memory are stated to stay local, but prompts and limited context are sent to Anthropic, OpenAI and Cerebras, and the API runs on Cloudflare WorkerssourceUnclear
We do not use your data for trainingStated plainly in the privacy notice, alongside a statement that AI inputs are not sold and the configuration is intended to prevent trainingsourceHolds up
One identifiable operating companyThree names across three documents: Kin AI ApS in the privacy notice, Hyphen ApS in the terms, Cap TechCo ApS as App Store seller. The first two share CVR 43118420sourceContradicted
You must be at least 18 to use KinStated in the terms of use. The App Store rates the same app 16+, so the two published answers disagreesourceContradicted

Who it is for

People who want a companion that keeps notes on their life and are unwilling to hand that record to a US service with a vague retention clause. It is the only entry in this hub with a written commitment that your data is not used for training, and being under Danish law brings GDPR with it.

Who it is not for

Anyone on Android, since ClickTug could confirm no Play listing. Anyone who wants a price before installing. And anyone who reads local storage as local processing, because your prompts still go to third-party model providers.

Pricing

Nothing is published on mykin.ai and the pricing path returns a 404. The App Store lists nine in-app purchases across three tiers: Premium at 20.00 US dollars a month or 189.00 a year, Standard at 21.99 a month or 169.99 a year, and Pro at 43.99 a month or 339.99 a year. Premium being cheaper monthly than Standard while costing more annually is what the listing says rather than an error on our part.

The app is free to download and everything is an in-app purchase, so you can start without paying. What a non-paying account actually includes is not documented anywhere ClickTug could read, so the allowance is recorded as unverified rather than described.

TierPriceIncludes
FreeFree
  • The app is free to download and every tier is an in-app purchase

What a non-paying account includes is not published anywhere ClickTug could read.

Premium, monthly$20/month
  • The cheapest recurring option on the App Store listing

Confusingly cheaper than the tier named Standard, which is 21.99.

Standard, monthly$21.99/month
  • Standard tier access
Standard, annual$169.99/year
  • Twelve months of Standard, billed once
Premium, annual$189/year
  • Twelve months of Premium, billed once
Pro, monthly$43.99/month
  • Highest published tier
Pro, annual$339.99/year
  • Twelve months of Pro, billed once

Refunds: Purchases are in-app, so Apple's refund process applies. No separate refund terms are published.

Signup friction

An account is required. The app is free to download and payment runs through Apple, so no card reaches the vendor directly. What onboarding asks for cannot be confirmed without an account and is recorded as unverified.

  • No card at signup
  • Account required
  • Anonymous use not supported

Platforms

iOS only, as far as ClickTug could verify. There is an App Store listing; the Google Play identifier associated with Kin returns not found, so no Android version is recorded here until one can be loaded.

  • iOS

Feature matrix

Absence of evidence is not recorded as absence of a feature. Anything that needs an account to confirm is marked not tested rather than "no".

Features of Kin
Text chatYesDocumented
Character chatYesDocumented
Image generationNot offeredDocumented
Image to imageNot offeredDocumented
Video generationNot offeredDocumented
VoiceYesDocumented
WebNot offeredDocumented
iOSYesDocumented
AndroidNot offeredDocumented
DesktopNot offeredDocumented
APINot offeredDocumented
Runs locallyNoDocumented
Long-term memoryNeeds an accountNot tested
Group chatNeeds an accountNot tested
Custom system promptNeeds an accountNot tested
Model selectionNeeds an accountNot tested

Privacy and data

The privacy notice states conversations, journal entries and memory stay locally on the device, that the company does not use your data for training and does not sell your AI inputs, and that its configuration is intended to prevent training. It also names its subprocessors: the API runs on Cloudflare Workers, data may be stored in Cloudflare D1, and prompts with limited context go to Anthropic, OpenAI and Cerebras. Deletion is self-serve. The only numeric retention period is 30 days for optional diagnostic traces.

RetentionConversations, journal entries and memory are stated to stay locally on the device. The Kin API runs on Cloudflare Workers and data may be stored in Cloudflare D1. The only retention period given as a number covers optional diagnostic traces, deleted automatically after 30 days. Server-side records are removed within a reasonable period after account deletion.source
Trains on your contentNo
DeletionSelf-serve in account settings
Processing locationDenmark, with model prompts sent to third-party providers
Privacy policyRead the vendor policy

Privacy disclosure

Privacy disclosure by Kin
Trains on your contentStated: nosourceDocumented
Account deletionSelf-serve in account settingsDocumented
Deletion control seen workingNeeds an accountNot tested
Chat exportNeeds an accountNot tested
Usable without an accountNo, an account is requiredDocumented
Payment methods disclosedYesDocumented

What the vendor lets you know before paying

This measures disclosure, not quality. A good product can document nothing, and that is worth knowing separately from whether it is any good.

Documentation published by Kin
Price publishedNosourceNot documented
Operating company namedKin AI ApSDocumented
Jurisdiction statedCopenhagen, Denmark, governed by Danish lawDocumented
Retention period statedYes, in the privacy policysourceDocumented
Training policy statedYessourceDocumented
Refund terms publishedYesDocumented
Content policy publishedYessourceDocumented
Position on minors publishedNoNot documented

Content policy and safety

Kin documents its output filtering asstrict filtering, and its age policy as self-declared at signup.

Kin does not offer clothing removal from photographs of real people. ClickTug does not list tools that do. Its stated position on the likeness of real people is that it is blocked outright.

What the vendor prohibits

  • Use by anyone under 18, who cannot consent to the terms
  • Use from countries under US embargo or by restricted parties
  • Copying, distributing or reverse engineering the service

There is no prohibited content list. The terms describe account termination grounds rather than content rules, so what the model refuses is undocumented.

ClickTug verdict

The best privacy documentation in this hub, undercut by an identity problem it could fix in an afternoon. Kin states that it does not train on your data, does not sell your inputs, and names the third parties that see your prompts, which is more than any other companion listed here manages. Then its three documents name three different companies, and its terms set a minimum age its own App Store listing contradicts. The substance is strong and the paperwork is careless, which is an unusual way round for this category.

Strengths

  • A written commitment that user data is not used for training, rare in this category
  • Names its subprocessors: Cloudflare, Anthropic, OpenAI and Cerebras
  • A Danish company with a CVR number, so GDPR applies and the operator is checkable
  • Conversations, journal entries and memory stated to stay on the device
  • Self-serve account deletion from app settings

Two things almost nothing else here offers. A written statement that your data is not used to train models, rather than a licence to de-identify and aggregate. And a named list of exactly which third parties see your prompts, which is the disclosure that lets you judge the privacy claim instead of trusting it.

Limitations

  • Three different company names across the privacy notice, the terms and the App Store
  • The terms require 18 while the App Store rates the app 16+
  • No price on the vendor's own site, and the pricing path returns 404
  • Local storage is not local inference: prompts still leave the device
  • No prohibited content list, so what the model refuses is undocumented

Its own documents cannot agree on who runs it. The privacy notice says Kin AI ApS, the terms say Hyphen ApS, and the App Store seller is Cap TechCo ApS. The first two share a CVR so this is likely one company mid-rename, but a reader checking who holds their journal should not have to work that out. Prices are steep and invisible until you are inside the store, and the terms set 18 while the App Store rates it 16+.

Hands on

Two sentences in Kin’s privacy notice do something almost nothing else in this directory does.

The first is that the company does not use your data for training and does not sell your AI inputs, and that its configuration is intended to prevent training. Read that next to the standard clause in this category, which grants the vendor a licence to de-identify and aggregate user content and use it freely. Those are not the same promise. One forecloses the question; the other leaves it open while sounding reassuring.

The second is the list of subprocessors. The API runs on Cloudflare Workers, data may sit in Cloudflare D1, and prompts with limited context go to Anthropic, OpenAI and Cerebras. Naming them is what turns “private by design” from a slogan into something a reader can evaluate, and it is also the sentence that corrects the impression the marketing leaves. Your journal stays on your phone. Your prompts do not. Local storage is not local inference, and Kin is one of the few vendors that gives you enough information to notice the difference.

Then you check who you would be trusting, and the answer depends on which document you opened.

The privacy notice, updated 9 February 2026, says Kin AI ApS. The terms of use, effective 2 September 2025, say Hyphen ApS. The App Store lists the seller as Cap TechCo ApS. The first two carry the same CVR number, 43118420, at the same Copenhagen address, so the likeliest explanation is a company that renamed itself and updated one document. That is a benign explanation and it is still a problem, because the person most likely to check is the person most worried about where their journal lives, and they should not have to reconcile a company register to get an answer.

The age rule has the same shape. The terms say you must be at least 18 to consent. The App Store rates the app 16+. Both are published by the same operator about the same product, and neither is enforced by anything more than a self-declared date.

None of that undoes the privacy work, which is genuinely the best documented in this hub. It does mean the paperwork is careless in a category where the paperwork is usually the only thing a buyer can check, and it is the kind of gap we record rather than smooth over.

How Kin compares

Every figure on the right is computed across the 34 tools ClickTug currently tracks, at the moment this page was built. They are facts about this catalogue rather than about the market, and they move as it grows.

Kin compared with the ClickTug catalogue
MeasureKinAcross ClickTug
Starting priceNot published$11.99 median of 14 that publish one
Publishes a priceNo23 of 34 tracked
Free tierYes30 of 34 tracked
Names its operating companyYes30 of 34 tracked
States a training positionYes18 of 34 tracked
Publishes a position on minorsNo18 of 22 hosted tools tracked

Kin compared with the alternatives

Every cell is read from the same records as each tool's own listing, so nothing here can claim something its page denies. Rows needing an account to confirm are left out entirely rather than guessed at, and live in each listing's feature matrix instead.

Kin compared with its alternatives on price, features and disclosure
 KinTolanKindroid
Starting price$20/moNot published$15.99/mo
Free tierYesYesYes
Card to startNoNoNo
Account requiredYesYesYes
Runs on your hardwareNoNoNo
Image generationNoNoYes
Video generationNoNoNo
VoiceYesYesYes
APINoNoNo
Mobile appYesYesYes
Trains on your contentStates noNot statedNot stated
Account deletionIn accountIn accountIn account
Company namedYesYesYes
Position on minorsNot publishedNot publishedPublished
  • Tolan

    Kin vs TolanFreemium

    Choose Tolan instead if you want a deliberately non-human companion with a family plan, and you can accept weaker documentation on training and tracking.

  • Kindroid

    Kin vs KindroidSubscription

    Choose Kindroid instead if verified age checking matters more to you than a no-training commitment, and you need web or Android as well as iOS.

Quick answers about Kin

Generated from the same records as the tables above, so an answer here cannot contradict a figure there. Questions only appear when the answer says something specific to this product.

Is Kin free?
There is a free tier. Free to download, with everything sold as in-app purchase. What a non-paying account includes is not published, and ClickTug holds no account, so the allowance is unverified.
How much does Kin cost?
No price is published. No price appears on mykin.ai and there is no pricing page: the path returns 404. The figures below are the in-app purchases published on the App Store listing, which is the only place a buyer can read them before paying.
Does Kin require a credit card to start?
No card is required to reach the free layer. One is needed for any paid plan.
Does Kin offer refunds?
Purchases are in-app, so Apple's refund process applies. No separate refund terms are published.
Does Kin have an app?
Yes, on iOS.
Can Kin run locally?
No. It is a hosted service, so everything you write reaches the vendor's servers.
Does Kin train on my conversations?
The vendor states it does not use user content to train models. That is a written commitment rather than something ClickTug can verify from outside, and it is rarer in this category than it should be.
Can I delete my Kin account?
Yes, through a control in the account rather than by asking support.
Is Kin actually uncensored?
Not entirely. ClickTug records it as strict filtering, and the prohibited list above says what it refuses.
What company owns Kin, and where?
Kin AI ApS, Copenhagen, Denmark, governed by Danish law. Publishing an identifiable counterparty is worth noting: several tools in this directory name no company at all.

Kin FAQ

How much does Kin cost?

Nothing is published on mykin.ai and its pricing path returns a 404. The App Store lists Premium at 20.00 US dollars a month or 189.00 a year, Standard at 21.99 a month or 169.99 a year, and Pro at 43.99 a month or 339.99 a year. Premium is cheaper than Standard monthly and dearer annually, which is what the listing says rather than a mistake here.

Does Kin train on my conversations?

No, and it is one of very few companion apps here to say so in writing. The privacy notice states the company does not use your data for training, does not sell your AI inputs, and that its configuration is intended to prevent training. Most competitors instead grant themselves a licence to de-identify and aggregate, which is not the same commitment.

Does Kin really keep everything on my device?

Partly, and the distinction matters. Conversations, journal entries and memory are stated to stay local. But the Kin API runs on Cloudflare Workers, data may be stored in Cloudflare D1, and your prompts with limited context are sent to Anthropic, OpenAI and Cerebras to generate replies. Local storage is not local inference. Naming those providers is to the vendor's credit; reading the claim as offline would be a mistake.

Who actually operates Kin?

Three names appear across its own documents. The privacy notice says Kin AI ApS, the terms of use say Hyphen ApS, and the App Store seller is Cap TechCo ApS. Kin AI ApS and Hyphen ApS share CVR 43118420 at the same Copenhagen address, so this is most likely one company part way through a rename. ClickTug records the discrepancy rather than picking whichever name looks tidiest.

What age do you have to be to use Kin?

The terms of use say you must be at least 18 to consent to use Kin. The App Store rates the app 16+. Those are two published answers that disagree, and neither is backed by a verification step: the control is a self-declared age either way.

How we checked Kin

Checked
9 September 2026
Documents read
3
Claims checked
4
Documentation gaps
2

What we did

  • Read every policy document linked from this page, in full
  • Loaded the pricing page, and re-loaded it in a rendering browser where it was empty
  • Checked the homepage against the pricing and policy pages for disagreement
  • Ran the vendor's own homepage through ClickTug's excluded-terms gate
  • Searched for reporting, incident-database entries and independent testing

What we have not done

Everything below needs an account, and ClickTug does not hold one here. These are recorded as not tested rather than guessed at, which is why they are absent from the tables above rather than marked "no".

  • Signup completed
  • Email verification required
  • Card required at signup
  • First response generated
  • Long-term memory
  • Voice feature
  • Character creation
  • Delete-account control
  • Chat export
  • Cancellation flow

Verified ClickTug observed this directly on the vendor's own pages.Documented The vendor states this in a document we have linked.Not documented We read the document that would carry this and it is absent.Not tested Checking this needs an account. We have not held one, so we have not checked.

Sources for this listing

ClickTug last checked these facts on 9 Sept 2026 against 3 vendor sources. Pricing and data policies in this category change within weeks, so treat the date as part of the fact.

Something wrong or out of date? Report this listing. If this listing concerns you personally, use our removal request form.

More ai friend