AI FriendiOS
Tolan: pricing, free tier and privacy
A cartoon alien companion rather than a person, with a family plan and heavier tracking than its manner suggests.
At a glance
- Price
- Not published
- Free tier
- Yes
- Account
- Required
- Runs locally
- No
- Image generation
- No
- Voice
- Yes
- Trains on your content
- Not documented
- Last verified
- 9 Sept 2026
What is Tolan?
Tolan is an iOS companion app whose character is a cartoon alien rather than a person. You talk to it by text or voice, and it builds a memory from your conversations. It is operated by AQP, Inc. trading as Portola, of Beaverton, Oregon. The design is the argument: where most companion apps aim at realism, this one puts big eyes and a cartoon planet between you and the illusion.
Tolan: pros and cons
Good fit if
- The character is deliberately not human, which is a design boundary rather than a disclaimer
- A Family Plan with its own published trust and safety FAQ, unique in this hub
- Break reminders and age-appropriate conversation filtering for minors
- A named operating company with a printed address in its own privacy policy
- Deletion is self-serve in the app rather than a support request
Look elsewhere if
- No price published anywhere on the vendor's own site
- No retention period stated as a number
- No commitment that conversations stay out of model training, only a Google Workspace carve-out
- The App Store card declares cross-app tracking for advertising, with user content linked to you
- iOS only, as far as ClickTug could verify, and age is a self-declared date of birth
Tolan pricing
Nothing is published on tolans.com. The App Store listing shows Tolan Lite Membership at 11.99 US dollars and a Relay Boost at 2.99, alongside several older tiers marked as such, from 4.99 up to 69.99. The listing does not state billing periods, so the interval is visible only at the purchase sheet. ClickTug records the price as not published on the vendor's own site and quotes the store figures rather than treating an in-app purchase list as a pricing page.
| Tier | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|
| Trial | Free |
No allowance and no duration are published for this. |
| Tolan Lite Membership | $11.99/month |
The current Lite in-app purchase on the App Store listing. The billing period is not stated on the listing, so the month here is an assumption a buyer should check at the purchase sheet. |
| Relay Boost | $2.99 one-time |
|
Refunds: Purchases are in-app, so Apple's refund process applies. Portola publishes no separate refund terms.
Tolan compared with the alternatives
Read from each tool's own listing. Rows that need an account to confirm are left out, and named under Sources.
| Tolan | Kindroid | Nastia | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Not published | $15.99/mo | Behind signup |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes | No |
| Card to start | No | No | No |
| Account required | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Runs on your hardware | No | No | No |
| Image generation | No | Yes | Yes |
| Video generation | No | No | Yes |
| Voice | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| API | No | No | No |
| Mobile app | Yes | Yes | No |
| Trains on your content | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Account deletion | In account | In account | By request |
| Company named | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Position on minors | Not published | Published | Published |

Tolan vs KindroidSubscription
Choose Kindroid instead if you want verified age checking through a third party and a companion available on web and Android as well as iOS.

Tolan vs NastiaSubscription
Choose Nastia instead if published compliance documentation is what you are optimising for, though it is a romantic companion rather than a non-romantic one.
Is Tolan safe?Five documented answers
Is Tolan safe?
Tolan's own documents answer the five questions that decide it, read on 9 Sept 2026. ClickTug does not turn them into a safety grade, because the same answer can be fine for one reader and a reason to leave for another.
- Who runs it
- AQP, Inc.. Jurisdiction: Beaverton, Oregon, United States.
- Age checks
- Age is self-declared at signup. No verification step is documented.
- What it keeps
- No retention period is stated as a number. The policy says information is kept as long as necessary for the purposes identified and deleted after the relevant retention period, without saying what that period is. Conversations are logged and used to build the companion's memory, which the vendor describes as kept on its servers. source
- Training on your chats
- The vendor does not address it. source
- Deleting your data
- Yes, through a control in the account rather than by asking support. source
The content rules, and everything else the vendor publishes, are under Privacy, data and safety.
Who Tolan suits
Who Tolan suits
Who it is for
People who want an ongoing companion without the romantic framing that defines most of this category, and households buying for more than one person, since a Family Plan exists with its own published trust and safety FAQ. It is the entry here least likely to be uncomfortable to explain.
The non-human design is a real safety feature rather than a style choice, because it does not ask you to forget what you are talking to. Alongside that, the Family Plan trust and safety FAQ, the break reminders and the age-appropriate filtering make it the only entry in this hub built on the assumption that a younger person might be using it.
Who it is not for
Anyone on Android, since the App Store listing is the only platform ClickTug could verify. Anyone who wants a price before installing, because none is published on the vendor's site. And anyone who wants a written commitment that conversations do not train models, which is not offered.
The tracking posture does not match the manner. An app this gentle declaring cross-app tracking for advertising, with user content among the linked data, is a mismatch worth knowing about. Add no published price, no published retention period, no training commitment and iOS only, and the documentation is thinner than the product's presentation implies.
Tolan free tier and signup
Tolan free tier and signup
There is a limited trial for new users, extendable by completing tasks such as inviting a friend. What the trial includes and how long it lasts are not published, so the allowance is unverified rather than described. Full access requires a subscription, which the FAQ states plainly.
An account is required. The app is free to download and payment goes through Apple in-app purchase, so no card reaches Portola directly. What onboarding asks for cannot be confirmed without an account, so it is recorded as unverified.
- No card at signup
- Account required
- Anonymous use not supported
iOS, verified from the App Store listing. Portola's own FAQ does not state Android support and ClickTug found no Google Play listing it could confirm, so this is recorded as iOS only until that changes.
- iOS
Tolan privacy, data and content policy
Tolan privacy, data and content policy
Conversations are logged and used to build the companion memory, held on Portola servers. No retention period is published as a number. Deletion is self-serve in the app or by email. The only training statement is a carve-out saying Google Workspace data is not used to train models, which says nothing about conversations, so training is recorded as not documented. The App Store privacy card declares data used to track you across other companies apps, and lists user content among the data linked to you and used for advertising.
| Processing location | United States |
|---|---|
| Privacy policy | Read the vendor policy |
Where your words go
Hosted service
Everything you write reaches the vendor
What that means for you
No. It is a hosted service, so everything you write reaches the vendor's servers.
Content policy
Tolan documents its output filtering as strict filtering, and its age policy as self-declared at signup.
Tolan does not offer clothing removal from photographs of real people. ClickTug does not list tools that do. Its stated position on the likeness of real people is that it is blocked outright.
What the vendor prohibits
- Use by a child without the consent of a parent or legal guardian
- Unlawful use of the service under the terms of service
This is a deliberately non-romantic, non-explicit product and its filtering is strict, but the age control is a self-declared date of birth rather than a check.
Vendor acceptable use policy · ClickTug content policy
What the vendor publishes
This measures disclosure, not quality. A good product can document nothing, and that is worth knowing separately from whether it is any good.
| Price published | Nosource | Not documented |
|---|---|---|
| Operating company named | AQP, Inc. | Documented |
| Jurisdiction stated | Beaverton, Oregon, United States | Documented |
| Retention period stated | No period givensource | Not documented |
| Training policy stated | Nosource | Not documented |
| Refund terms published | Yes | Documented |
| Content policy published | Yessource | Documented |
| Privacy policy published | Yessource | Documented |
| Position on minors published | No | Not documented |
Every Tolan factThe full record
Every Tolan fact
| Category | AI Friend |
|---|---|
| Pricing model | Freemium |
| Starting price | Not published |
| Pricing note | No price appears anywhere on tolans.com, including the FAQ, which says only that full access requires a subscription. The figures below are the in-app purchases published on the App Store listing, which is where a buyer actually sees them. |
| Free tier | YesNew users get a limited trial that can be extended by completing tasks such as inviting a friend. Neither the length of the trial nor what it includes is published. |
| Free trial | Yes |
| Card required at signup | No |
| Account required | Yes |
| Payment methods | Apple in-app |
| Platforms | iOS |
| Generation modes | Character chat, Text chat, Voice chat |
| Content filtering | Strict filtering |
| Age policy | Self-declared at signup |
| Position on minors | Not publishedNo document titled as a minor safety policy. Portola publishes a Family Plan trust and safety FAQ describing break reminders and age-appropriate filtering, and its privacy policy states it does not process children's information without parental consent. Checked 9 Sep 2026. |
| Data retention | No retention period is stated as a number. The policy says information is kept as long as necessary for the purposes identified and deleted after the relevant retention period, without saying what that period is. Conversations are logged and used to build the companion's memory, which the vendor describes as kept on its servers.source |
| Trains on your content | Not documented |
| Deletion on request | Self-serve in account settings |
| Anonymous use | Not supported |
| Company | AQP, Inc., Beaverton, Oregon, United States |
| Last verified | by ClickTugger |
What Tolan claims, and what we found
What Tolan claims, and what we found
What Tolan claims, and what we found
Each row is a claim the vendor makes on a public page, beside what the same vendor's other pages say. Where two of their documents disagree we record both rather than choosing one. All checked 9 Sept 2026.
| Vendor claim | What we found | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Logs are only ever used to improve your app experience | The App Store card lists advertising among the uses of data linked to you, and declares tracking across other companies' appssource | Unclear |
| Your data is never sold or shared without your consent | Stated by the vendor. A negative about sharing cannot be checked from published material, so it is recorded as its wording rather than as a findingsource | Unclear |
| A Family Plan with published trust and safety documentation | Confirmed. A dedicated Family Plan trust and safety FAQ describes break reminders and age-appropriate filtering for minorssource | Holds up |
Using Tolan
Using Tolan
The interesting decision here is the one Portola made about the face.
Nearly every product in this category is trying to close the gap between talking to software and talking to a person. Photorealistic avatars, generated selfies, voices tuned to sound like someone in the room. Tolan goes the other way on purpose: the companion is a cartoon alien with oversized eyes living on a small animated planet, and it never pretends otherwise. That is a design boundary doing the work a disclaimer usually fails to do, because you cannot forget what you are looking at.
It shows up in the rest of the product too. There is a Family Plan, which nothing else in this hub offers, and it comes with a published trust and safety FAQ rather than a paragraph. Minors get hourly break reminders and age-appropriate conversation filtering. The App Store rates it 13+ and files it under Health and Fitness rather than Entertainment. Whatever else is true, somebody thought about who might be holding the phone.
Then you read the paperwork and the care stops. There is no price anywhere on the vendor’s own site, only in-app purchases visible once you are inside the App Store listing. There is no retention period expressed as a number, just a sentence about keeping information as long as necessary. There is no statement that your conversations stay out of model training, only a carve-out about Google Workspace data that has nothing to do with your conversations.
The sharpest mismatch is the tracking. Tolan’s App Store privacy card declares data used to track you across other companies’ apps and websites, covering purchases, location, identifiers and usage data, and lists user content among the data linked to you and used for advertising. Read the vendor’s own sentence next to that: conversations are “only ever used to improve your app experience”. Both can be technically true and they do not describe the same product. We have recorded that as partly supported rather than calling it either honest or false, because the disclosure and the reassurance are answering different questions and only the vendor knows which one governs.
None of that makes it a bad companion. It makes it a well-designed product with documentation written to a lower standard than the design, which is a common enough problem here and an unusually visible one when the rest of the work is this deliberate.
How Tolan compares and what has changed
How Tolan compares and what has changed
The clearest answer in this hub to a question the rest of the category dodges: what a companion should look like. Tolan makes its character a cartoon alien, ships a Family Plan with a published trust and safety FAQ, and gives minors break reminders and filtered conversation. Then the paperwork undercuts it. No price on its own site, no retention period as a number, no commitment that conversations stay out of training, and an App Store card declaring cross-app tracking for advertising. A product designed this carefully deserves policies to match.
How Tolan compares
Every figure on the right is computed across the 40 tools ClickTug currently tracks, at the moment this page was built. They are facts about this catalogue rather than about the market, and they move as it grows.
| Measure | Tolan | Across ClickTug |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Not published | $11.99 median of 13 that publish one |
| Publishes a price | No | 24 of 40 tracked |
| Free tier | Yes | 34 of 40 tracked |
| Names its operating company | Yes | 37 of 40 tracked |
| States a training position | No | 19 of 40 tracked |
| Publishes a position on minors | No | 19 of 28 hosted tools tracked |
Sources, and how we checked Tolan
Sources, and how we checked Tolan
ClickTug last checked these facts on 9 Sept 2026 against 4 vendor sources. Pricing and data policies in this category change within weeks, so treat the date as part of the fact.
- www.tolans.com/privacy-policy
- www.tolans.com/faq
- apps.apple.com/us/app/tolan-alien-best-friend/id6477549878
- www.tolans.com/family-plan-trust-safety-faq
How we checked Tolan
- Checked
- 9 September 2026
- Documents read
- 4
- Claims checked
- 3
- Documentation gaps
- 4
What we did
- Read every policy document linked from this page, in full
- Loaded the pricing page, and re-loaded it in a rendering browser where it was empty
- Checked the homepage against the pricing and policy pages for disagreement
- Ran the vendor's own homepage through ClickTug's excluded-terms gate
- Searched for reporting, incident-database entries and independent testing
What we have not done
Everything below needs an account, and ClickTug does not hold one here. These are recorded as not tested rather than guessed at, which is why they are absent from the tables above rather than marked "no".
- Signup completed
- Email verification required
- Card required at signup
- First response generated
- Long-term memory
- Voice feature
- Character creation
- Delete-account control
- Chat export
- Cancellation flow
Verified ClickTug observed this directly on the vendor's own pages.Documented The vendor states this in a document we have linked.Not documented We read the document that would carry this and it is absent.Not tested Checking this needs an account. We have not held one, so we have not checked.
Product identity
| Official name | Tolan | Verified |
|---|---|---|
| Operator | AQP, Inc. | Documented |
| Jurisdiction | Beaverton, Oregon, United States | Documented |
| Website | www.tolans.com | Verified |
| Also known as | Tolan AI, tolans.com, Portola | Verified |
Something wrong or out of date? Report this listing. If this listing concerns you personally, use our removal request form.
Tolan FAQ
How much does Tolan cost?
Nothing is published on tolans.com. The App Store listing shows Tolan Lite Membership at 11.99 US dollars and a Relay Boost at 2.99, plus several older tiers between 4.99 and 69.99 marked as old. Billing periods are not stated on the listing, so you see the interval at the purchase sheet rather than in advance.
Is Tolan safe for kids?
It is the entry in this hub most obviously built with that question in mind, without being a children's product. Portola publishes a Family Plan trust and safety FAQ, gives minors hourly break reminders and age-appropriate conversation filtering, and the App Store rates it 13+. Its privacy policy says it does not process children's information without parental consent. The age control itself is a self-declared date of birth rather than a verification check.
Does Tolan train on my conversations?
Not documented, which is not the same as no. The only training statement in the privacy policy is a carve-out saying Google Workspace data is not used to train models, and that says nothing about your conversations. ClickTug records the absence rather than reading it either way.
Does Tolan track me?
Its App Store privacy card declares data used to track you across other companies' apps and websites, listing purchases, location, identifiers, usage data and other data. Data linked to you includes user content, used among other things for advertising. That is a heavier posture than the product's presentation suggests and it is the main thing to weigh before installing.
Is Tolan on Android?
ClickTug verified an iOS listing only. Portola's FAQ does not state Android support and no Google Play listing could be confirmed, so this listing records iOS until that changes rather than assuming parity.
Try Tolan
Checked 9 Sept 2026 against 4 vendor sources.